首页 > 雪顿历史

雪顿历史

雪顿是两个藏语词的音译,"雪"在藏语里表示"酸奶",而"顿"表示"宴"。因而这一天,吃酸奶成为了节日的一大特色,这也是为何雪顿节也叫做"酸奶节"。

阿底峡大师

雪顿节的历史一直可以追溯到11世纪,当时著名的孟加拉国佛教大师——阿底峡,被邀请来到西藏兴佛。在这之前的2个世纪里,佛教在西藏一直被禁止,而在那段时期,连续不断的冲突和战争使人民饱受痛苦,所以人们急需一种精神力量来安慰支撑大家。经过阿底峡大师和他弟子的多年努力,佛教里关于爱、奉献、和睦、宽仁等思想重新在社会上确立起来,大师在兴佛方面的杰出贡献,赢得了广大群众的尊敬和爱戴。阿底峡大师个人十分喜欢喝酸奶,因此每到夏天来临之际,群众都会自发给他送去酸奶,大师也会为这些群众祈福。据说,凡是给大师送过酸奶的人家,家畜从来不会染病、丢失或者被野兽吃掉。当这种传言被越来越多的人知道后,酸奶在大家的心中也变成了一种吉祥的食物。

当时藏传佛教的教理已经发展到了300多条,其中最重要的就是要尽量避免杀生。每到夏天来临之际,也是西藏这块高原上绿色植被生长最繁盛的时节,虫儿也竞相出来觅食。而在这万物最活跃的时候,大师和他的弟子却选择在寺庙里打坐静修,以免出门不小心踩死任何小生物。根据藏历,这种在藏语里称作“雅勒”的夏日静修,一直要从4月初持续到6月30日。然而,在寺院里清修3个月不出门,对于喇嘛来说也有困难,最明显的困难就是食物不足。为了感谢喇嘛3个月持续不断辛苦地静修祈福,每到6月30日静修结束,成千上万的群众都要涌向寺庙,向喇嘛们递上自家最好的酸奶,这就是雪顿节的起源。

五世达赖喇嘛

1642年,格鲁派掌握西藏大权,五世达赖喇嘛成为政教合一的唯一领袖。而他的驻锡地——哲蚌寺的甘丹颇章成为了当时西藏政治、宗教和文化的中心。五世达赖喇嘛自幼喜欢藏戏,正是在他的建议下,藏戏第一次被引入了雪顿节。从那时起,藏戏表演就成为了雪顿节中必不可少的一项活动。当时藏戏表演还仅限于寺院内的喇嘛和一些被邀请的达官贵人,但在西藏这片禁土上,这已经形成了宗教和娱乐的第一次完美结合。直到1653年前,藏戏还一直在哲蚌寺表演,之后便移到了布达拉宫,因为从1653年开始,布达拉宫便成了五世达赖喇嘛新的驻锡地。这种情况一直持续到1720年七世达赖喇嘛掌权,他在拉萨西郊修建了他的夏宫罗布林卡,从此以后藏戏便一直在罗布林卡上演,从那时开始,藏戏才第一次对公众开放,并且成为雪顿节期间必不可少的一个娱乐项目。

回溯雪顿节千年历史,斗转星移,从哲蚌寺到布达拉宫,再到罗布林卡。你会很容易察觉到,这个历史悠久的传统节日已经深深地根植在一代又一代藏族同胞的心中。无论你来自何方,又将去往西藏何处,雪顿节都是你踏上这片神奇土地,了解这个古老民族宗教和文化传统的最佳时机。

此栏目暂无任何新增信息

Home > Festival History

Festival History

Shoton is a transliteration of two words in the Tibetan language which means "the Yoghurt (Sho) Banquet (Ton)", so this festival is featuring in eating yogurt, that's why the Shoton Festival is also called the Yoghurt Festival.

The history of Shoton Festival can be traced back to the 11th century when the Great Bangladeshi Buddhist Master Atisha was invited to Tibet to revive Buddhism that had been forbidden about two centuries on this highland, during which people suffered a lot from endless conflicts and wars. After decades of Atisha and his disciples' hard work, the Buddhism spirits of charity, forgiveness, love and peace became prevailed again in the society and for this, Atisha won much respect from people too; The Master Atisha likes eating Yoghurt, and the folks would present him with alms of yogurt when summer comes; reciprocally, the Master would pray for them. It is said that the livestock of the folks presenting yogurt to the Master would be free from disease, getting neither lost nor eaten by wild animals, with these known by more and more people, yogurt became a kind of holy food from that time.

Master Atisha

At that time, the doctrines of the Tibetan Buddhism had developed into more than 300 pieces, and the most important one is to avoid killing lives. While the vegetations became the most sufficient and the little creature all came out for food in summer, Atisha and his disciples all chose to stay inside the monastery to do meditation in case stamping any little creature into death outside. This summer meditation retreat lasts from April to the 30th, June according to the Tibetan calendar, and it is called "Yale" in the Tibetan language. However, staying only inside the monastery for 3 months long brought lots of problems too for lamas, among which, food insufficiency was the biggest one. In order to acknowledge the kindness that was practiced, and the hardness that was endured by the lamas during their summer meditation retreat in the monastery, hundreds of thousands of people would flood to the monastery and offer their best home-made yogurt to the lamas upon their return from retreat on the 30th, June, and that is how the Shoton Festival came into being.

Offerings to Lamas

In 1642, Gelupa sect of the Tibetan Buddhism took over the power in Tibet, and the Great Fifth Dalai Lama became the leader both in politics and religion. Thus, his dwelling place of Ganden Pochan at Drepung Monastery became the center of Tibetan politics, religion and culture. The great Fifth Dalai Lama was a fan of Tibetan opera, and it was under his decision that the Tibetan opera was introduced to the Shoton Festival. From that time, Tibetan opera has become a must-see highlight during the festival, yet at that time, the opera was only performed inside the Drepung Monastery and only open for lamas inside and some invited nobilities; but the Shoton Festival did take the lead in combing religion and entertainment on this forbidden land. The opera was performed in Drepung Monastery until 1653 when the Great 5th Dalai Lama moved his residence from Drepung Monastery to Potala Palace. However, when the 7th Dalai Lama was in power from 1720, he built Norbulingka Park as his summer palace in the western part of Lhasa city, and then, the stage for the Tibetan opera shifted to Norbulingka Park. And it is from that time too the Tibetan opera became open for the folks for the first time till now it becomes a must-see highlight for the folks during the festival.

Great 5th Dalai Lama

Looking back again the Shoton Festival's 1000 years history at Drepung Monastery, Potala Palace and Norbulingka Park, you will easily find this time-honored festival has rooted deeply into generations of Tibetan people's life. The festival is surely the best time for any explorer to come to this mysterious land to discover and understand this old nation's religion, culture and tradition.